Wanted: The Perfect Ritual Space

wooded path

I know, I know, it’s been awhile since I posted. I’ve been busy with work and the weather has been quite dysfunctional lately. I haven’t been able to get out to find my “perfect” sacred space that I want to connect with. I’m hoping that on some sunny day soon, I can hop on the bus and go in search of a space that will suit my needs. I want it to be accessible, private, maybe with some water close by. I have a picture in my head of what I’m looking for and I want that image to be a reality. I’m kind of tired of being cooped up in my apt doing my rituals cuz it’s too cold to venture outdoors and I haven’t found what I’m looking for. I want fresh air, birds chirping, wind blowing thru the treetops (oh gods, I’m starting to sound like a freakin’ Disney movie!!).  I’ve had some folks ask why don’t I just go to a park & find a quiet spot. Ah………no. If I’m going to do ritual, I don’t want prying eyes of the public watching me. I have no problem heading to a quiet spot in the park for meditation, in fact, I already have one of those spots.

I grew up in a rural farm town, an hour north of where I currently reside. It’s no problem to head out of my parents’ house, walk for a few minutes and I’d be in a good spot for ritual. There are even deer nearby to watch over me. It’s a place where I’d play as a child, go sledding in the winter with my friends, build tree houses in summer. When I go back for visits, I make sure I visit my space there. But alas, I don’t visit as often as I would like to.  😦

I love being outdoors in nature. Sometimes my city-weary heart craves to be in the wild, traipsing along in my boots through the woods, collecting rocks, sticks, leaves, etc. I love hearing birds in the trees singing, the snap of a twig by a critter doing their own thing. I used to go camping in lean-tos as a teen, when I was in Cadets. I learned survival skills, how to hunt, fish and trap my food. I miss the roughness of it all. Nowadays, getting back to nature is camping in a tricked out tent, complete with electricity, internet, etc. I’m a simple gal who likes simplicity. That’s what I’m looking for in my ritual space.

If I were to place an ad, it would probably go something like this:

“Wanted: A private clearing or space in the woods, near a source of water. Must be quiet, private and accessible off a lonely road. A huge rock would be a plus, but if not, that’s ok. Trees that encircle the space, critters nearby, a place for a small fire pit.”

 

One thought on “Wanted: The Perfect Ritual Space

  1. I’ve been feeling the same need to get outdoors lately, and recently went for a walk in the woods even though it was still chilly outside. I don’t know about you, but this winter has felt longer than usual to me.

    Beannachd Leibh,

    Pamela

Leave a Reply

